Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Im not really discussing language learning in the classroom; they kind of direct the topics you will learn here. If you were to approach a completely new language from scratch, knowing nothing about it previously, how would you start?

How do you choose which topics are the most important and that are fundamentals you should start with above all else? How do you test your competency, what methods would you use, etc.

Has anyone here self taught a language to a high standard?

Curious as I'm learning Spanish, I can see myself becoming a conversational speaker but beyond that I don't know how I would approach things and become better. Maybe this is because I'm comparing it to my school French learning experience and trying to cover the topics in a similar way.

ReputationRep:
    I would/do buy a thorough self-teaching course, which taught/teaches the fundamentals of the language. So, basically, I would cover topics in the order the author(s) chose.

Topics are less important, in my opinion, than the ability to construct a grammatically correct sentence!

I would keep going through the book until I got to the end. Alongside this, I would listen to and read anything I could that was in the relevant language. Then I would buy more books! I particularly like the Grammar Drills series, published by McGraw.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...grammar+drills

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by santanista)
    Im not really discussing language learning in the classroom; they kind of direct the topics you will learn here. If you were to approach a completely new language from scratch, knowing nothing about it previously, how would you start?