Adult Nursing Job interview(Barts Health Trust) Watch

Amuwaoluwa
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hello,

I have a job interview next week at Barts Health Trust. I am quite worried with the drug calculations, please do you have any tips for me.

Posted from TSR Mobile
jojot
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Umm, if you're a nurse already surely you know how to do drug calculations?!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Amuwaoluwa
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Yes I can do drug calculations, just need to know what sort of ??? I should be expecting.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Digi
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Amuwaoluwa)
Hello,

I have a job interview next week at Barts Health Trust. I am quite worried with the drug calculations, please do you have any tips for me.

Posted from TSR Mobile
I am a nurse and I have never ever had to work out drug calculations at an interview and if you DO have to work out drug calculations, the very least they should do is provide you with a calculator. They might ask you the theory behind drug calculations and what formula you would use.

The easiest way I have always remembered it is:

What you need (divided by) what you've got x what its in

So for example - you need to give 5mg IV morphine that comes in a 1ml vial at a concentration of 10mg/ml

5mg divided by 10mg x 1ml = 0.5ml

or you need to give 20mg oramorph that comes in a concentration of 2mg/ml

20mg divided by 2mg x 1ml = 10ml

As long as you remember the formula then it works for anything - tablets, medicines, IV drugs

For IV fluids then they should always be prescribed as an hourly rate and a set amount prescribed.

So for example, 1 litre of NaCl over 8 hours - then its just a case of dividing your fluids by how long it has to run over. 1000 divided by 8 hours = 125ml per hour.