Confuseddot
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi guys! New to this thread, so hello there!

Basically, I'm in my 3rd year at a top 10 university studying English Literature. If everything goes to plan I'll be graduating with a first, as I've kept a high average of 1sts in my modules throughout my first and second year.

However, my love for drama and theatre has also crept up on me whilst at university, and its ideally the career path I'd like to go in. I'm the present of a drama society at my university and involved in a choir society, a musical theatre social and also a film society.

My dilemma is that I don't know what side of drama I want to go in. I've always love acting and its the one I have most experience in. Ive also done quite a lot of writing, having several of my short plays acted in at my uni and I'd love to carry on doing playwrighting in the future. However, in this last year I've also had the opportunity to direct a lot, and I think its fair to say I've caught the bug. So I'm a bit stuck as what to apply for in terms of an MA. (I'm considering taking a year out before I do this, by the way, so I can get some theatre experience).

On the one hand I can just do another BA but this time in acting, and I'm thinking of applying to the following programmes:

BA Acting at RADA
BA Acting at Central
BA Acting at LAMDA
BA Acting at Guildhall
BA Acting at Oxford School of Drama
BA Acting at Drama Centre London
BA Acting at Bristol Old Vic

However, the problem with this option is finding the funding as I'll have already done a BA and therefore not be able to get Student Finance. I'm in no way rich. I come from a predominantly working class background. Also, it only involves only acting and, like I mentioned earlier, I'm also very interesting in the writing and acting side of drama.

I've also thought about applying straight to an MA in Acting. I was thinking of applying to the following MAs in straight acting:

MA Acting at Central