We're so reserved!! Why us British are so boring compared to other cultures! Watch

Cwalley
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hey! I'm a Britsih university student studying Spanish and Portuguese, and after studying all about other ''exotic'' and latin cultures (portuguese, brazilian, spanish, caribbean), I've come to the conclusion that us English are quite unsociable.
I have lots of exotic and interesting friends at university who are sooooo much more sociable than my English friends! It's completely normal for many cultures, for example Spanish people to greet each other with a kiss on the cheek, and generally be very interactive with their peers, however us ''Brits'' are happy to just not smile and stand their like a lemon with our hands in our pockets!
I recently noticed the big cultural difference after just coming back from an American cruise around the Caribbean. The whole trip, me and my family were showered with compliments about our appearance, asked if we were having a good day, told ''merry christmas'' about a million times, spoken to everytime we went in the elevators, engaged in conversations over the breakfast buffet, told life stories by extremely friendly Americans, chatted-up by brazilians, I spoke spanish (and portuguese) to countless guests, and generally had an amazing, sociable and refreshing time compared to England.

What do you guys think? I
Let me know you're views guys, I'd love to here what other cultures think about this
kassiopeia
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
why the self-loathing?every culture has its pros and cons.
FrogInABog
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
England probably seems boring because it's what you're used to. A lot of foreign people come over here and find our culture to be really interesting, so I think it's more to do with the fact that foreign cultures are a step away from what is normal for you. It's a bit depressing to be quite so self-flagellating though!
RollingDylan
Badges: 9
Rep:
?