weight training with dumbbells only Watch

other one
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I am late 20s, by nature skinny girl, who started lifting around 9 months ago. Due to medical reasons I had to stop for 4 months but would like to resume now. I am not a member of any gym now and the only one I'd join is my uni gym (20 min bus ride away). Going to the gym is time-consuming and of course costs money. I have two options. I can order additional weights for my dumbbells for around 30 quid (a month's membership in the gym) that will last me a while, but that means that I can only do dumbbells at home (plus there's a Fitness ball), no barbell, so I can't deadlift for instance. Is it a good idea for me to stick to home training with dumbbells only? Is there a good regime that anyone would recommend that does without a barbell and a bench?

many thanks in advance!
Octohedral
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I'm by no means an expert, but I've just bought the book;

"Strength Training Anatomy Workout" (NOT "Strength Training Anatomy" - get the workout one) by Delavier and Gundill.

It's specifically designed for working at home with dumbells, and looks fantastically useful. It gives you a complete guide to writing your own programme, and advice on diet etc. As I say, I haven't tried it yet, but it may be worth a look, particularly since you already lift, so you know what form to use etc.
epicnerd
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
How will you squat
other one
Rep:
?
(Original post by epicnerd)
How will you squat
http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercise...ale/m/85_2.jpg
Old School
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
It's better than nothing but a gym membership (at a gym with a cage, bars and lots of plates) would serve you much better in both short and long term.
In One Ear
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Very quickly you won't be able to hold onto dumbbells heavy enough.
HenryD
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago