crazyunicorn133
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
So i'm looking for some books to help me stay up to date with my anatomy and physiology, microbiology and pharmacology. I do have a reading list but i'm seeing if there are any better books elsewhere.

So, fellow nurses, what are your go-to reference books?

Thanks
lilibeth
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
BNF for pharm is a life saver. I've been taking mine to placement so when I get a minute I can look at my list of commonly used drugs on the ward. As for A&P books I used fundamentals of A&P for student nurses by Pete and Naire but just because that was the one that felt most comfortable for me when I was looking at books to buy. I would suggest going to your library and having a leaf through a few A&P books before you commit to one. They aren't cheap and you don't want to end up with one too simplistic or too complicated for you.
Digi
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I am a Nurse rather than a student, but I still refer to my copy of Tortora - Principles of Anatomy and Physiology. I have no idea what edition they are up to now, but I started my training in 1999 and feel my edition is still relevant. If you are not going to use if for referencing in assignments, then there is no reason why you shouldn't buy an older version off ebay/amazon etc. I would second what Lilibeth has said though - check out the A+P books in the library first as they are extremely expensive, and what is a good learning tool for one person might not be a good learning tool for you.

Pharmacology wise, again, you can't beat the BNF. As a student I would write down any drugs I came into contact with that I wasn't familiar with and then look them up in the BNF. Another book I find really useful and use now is 'A nurses survival guide to drugs in practice' by Ann Richards - it is pocketbook sized so easy to take with you on the ward and I know a lot of pharmacology students also use it as, for a little book, it is really detailed