The Student Room Group

GCSE art topics, themes and grades.

I'm currently studying GCSE art, and I've chosen the theme of ' growth and decay.' I'm hoping for a A* by the end of the year. I work hard and put in the effort but I'm struggling for ideas. I'd absolutely love an A* but I'm just not sure how to get there. ive mostly kept with the medium of paint, should I use other mediums? I'm working at a grade B at the minute if that helps.
Reply 1
Original post by JessWalsh16
I'm currently studying GCSE art, and I've chosen the theme of ' growth and decay.' I'm hoping for a A* by the end of the year. I work hard and put in the effort but I'm struggling for ideas. I'd absolutely love an A* but I'm just not sure how to get there. ive mostly kept with the medium of paint, should I use other mediums? I'm working at a grade B at the minute if that helps.

A lot of marks come down to ideas especially of youre on Edexcel I got an A and CANNOT draw well at all but I had ideas that were unusual and original, lots of different mediums and when things didn't go well I evaluated my work (if on Edexcel it's like 20 marks for literally making a comment on each of your pieces what you like what you could do better what you take from it in order to move on to the next piece)
My advice really would be don't be afraid to be wacky my final portfolio included painted bubble wrap( really effective actually) tin foil , shoe box 3D painting, t shirt printing, sewing, fabrics, acrylics, chalks, collage, wool, cocktail sticks and even the humble colouring pencil. My ideas and final pieces were always unique and different I played to my strengths which was away from the actual composition side of things. In many ways it's playing to the mark scheme - get hold of one and look at where you can pick up the EASY marks like commenting on your work and developing even the most basic of ideas. And include artists not just the ones that your teacher suggests. Hope that helps a bit :smile: