The Student Room Group
Students on campus Nottingham Trent University
Nottingham Trent University
Nottingham
Visit website

NTU Clifton Campus - New Hall 2013

I'm a student currently staying at New Hall (RY4401) and I've started this thread in order to provide useful information to next year's students, and hopefully answer your questions.New Hall itself is so new that it has only had one person living in the rooms before US so you will be the 3rd person to live in your particular room. The photos on the website don't have any description so when I got here I brought some things that I didn't need. I plan on using Microsoft Photosynth to take a proper one. Bedrooms

TV - There are no aerial sockets in the rooms or kitchen and NO signal from an indoor aerial.

Student Com, the internet provider here, do a TV Service but DO NOT get it, it's a waste of money and doesn't work or have many channels (use www.TVCatchup.com instead, you will still need a TV Licence to watch live TV but only if your laptop is plugged in)

There is a cable hole in the desk and the shelves above it

Ethernet (internet) sockets - You will find a 2 metre Ethernet cable in your room, but this won't reach very far (room is 270cm wide from desk wall to bed wall) so get a cheap Wireless router from ebay and use that as the WiFi they provide is not good. (We have one in our flat and it's much better than Student Com WiFi)

You may have seen 2 Ethernet sockets in the 360 photos but only ONE works. NONE of the sockets in the kitchen currently work either ("It's for future expansion reasons", they say)

Bed

Under bed Storage - You have to lift the mattress up to get to it (dimensions of everything will follow in another post)

Bed Length - The bed is just about 2m long (6.6 ft) as opposed to 6ft of other beds (Get the right sheets!)