Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

Will my degree be looked down on in the legal world? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hoping to get into the legal profession next year and qualify as a family solicitor. I am in my last year at UEA (Norwich) studying American History with Modern History BA (Hons), and I am determined to become a solicitor.

I want to get into a London firm like Charles Russell or Dawson Cornwell. I am also interested in some firms in Norwich and back in my home county...

My academic aren't great: AABc at A level in History, Politics, English Literature and Business. Should get a 2.1... My GCSEs were pretty poor due to some family problems (a death) - I got 2 A*s, 2 As, 1 B and 7 Cs (A*A*AABCCCCCCC)...

My ECs are:
    • Vac scheme at a local law firm back in my home county (large county firm; largest in my county)
    • Politics society
    • Conservative Party society
    • Student newspaper
    • American Studies society
    • Year abroad at University of California Davis (Major: History. Minor: Political Science)
    • Work experience at a local newspaper when I was 17 (if that counts?!)
    Anyway have I got a good chance. Someone I know (who has friends taking law degrees at another uni) said that an American History degree will be looked down on... Is this the case? And it isn't 100% US history. Part of it's modern history.

There was some guy at White & Case I believe (not a law firm I am interested in) who studied American and English Lit at UEA... So I may be okay? Your views?

Thank you all!
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lawyer444)
    Aren't you still at school, yet to do A levels?
    If you bothered to read the original post...

I am in my last year at UEA (Norwich) studying American History with Modern History BA (Hons), and I am determined to become a solicitor.
    AABc at A level in History, Politics, English Literature and Business. Should get a 2.1...

ReputationRep: