Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone!

I am a second year, currently trying to figure out what I did wrong in my first year as an undergraduate (in terms of exam revision). How do you study for science subjects? Do you make notes? Do you learn your notes? Do you write out essay plans? (I am a biology student) How many hours do you usually work a day? What helps you to stay motivated?

Thanks for all your help.

ReputationRep:
    What are your three subjects?

You have to do a lot of things really. If your second-year subjects were like mine, then about 20-30% are yours marks will come from short answer questions/multiple choice questions. This is basically a test of your ability to memorise the lecture handouts and doesn't require any further reading to do well in. I can memorise facts fairly well by just reading from the handout directly, although other people tend to find that making written notes helps to ingrain facts into their long-term memory. As you know, a lot of material is covered in the lectures, so it takes quite a lot of time to get a grip on all of it. It helps if you learn it well as you go along rather than trying to cram everything in Easter term.