Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

Main question
    My main question is do I stand a chance of getting into a leading philosophy course? And if so would I be looking at an Undergrad course or a Postgrad one?

Background
    I'm an Australian undergrad student studying a combined degree in Arts and Law. I've majored in International Studies and haven't taken any Philosophy units. I'm still completing my degree and am due to graduate at year's end.

I should also say my University is a smaller one (Deakin University) which is not internationally recognised.

Marks
    My marks are pretty good. My university calculates marks via a WAM which multiplies the score from each unit by the credit points obtained from that unit (nearly every subject is worth one credit point, although I did an internship unit worth 4 points). My overall WAM comes to around the 76% mark which is a Distinction grade for my university. If you look at Arts alone my WAM is roughly 81% which is a High Distinction grade (not sure how relevant this is).

Why I want to study philosophy
    I'm well advanced on the path of working at a law firm and have done internships at a few firms. However in the last year or so I can't help feeling that I have something else to offer the world other than being a lawyer.

I've always been a deep thinker and lately have become quite interested in analysing what we as humans are motivated by and for. I suppose I'm particularly interested in analysing why we've been put on this earth .

What universities am I looking at

I won't lie, sitting where I am in Australia I'm immediately drawn to the prestige of Oxford and Cambridge. Prestige is important to an extent as it's a bit hard justifying a move across the world to go to a smaller institution like where I've done my undergrad. I really like the idea of attending a world leading institution.