Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am currently studying GCSE physics but, as you can infer from my username, have a passion for particle physics, quantum mechanics ect.
    Whislt doing some further research, I thought of a question I cannot find the answer for. Here it is:

If a Photon has a mass of zero, why is It affected by gravity. In terms of black holes etc.?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Physics fanatic)
    Hi, I am currently studying GCSE physics but, as you can infer from my username, have a passion for particle physics, quantum mechanics ect.
    Whislt doing some further research, I thought of a question I cannot find the answer for. Here it is:

If a Photon has a mass of zero, why is It affected by gravity. In terms of black holes etc.?
    Very good question, I think it's to do with kinetic energy and gravitational potential energy, there is a good video done by the IoP explaining about it. I'll try and and find it for you.

ReputationRep:

Due to negs I looked into it a bit, I apologize it seems I was misinformed when I asked this same question to my physics teacher at the end of my GCSE's, I apologize :P OP, this might help a bit, and maybe lead you to further physics reading: http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/physic...oton_mass.html

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Crimmy)
    a photon carries light energy, so it carries energy. E=mc^2, it carries energy so has a mass (m) due to Einsteins equation

I also think its technically part of a group called the bosons, the force carrying fundimental particles. other ones (such as gluons) hold the quarks in atoms together and others do many more things, like tell 2 protons that theyre close together so must repel. I'm just quoting my physics teacher, and I dont fully understand it, so I'm afraid I cant help if this raises more questions then answers :P