Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm in my third year of a three year BSc. My partner and I had a child at the end of September last year. I applied for the PLA and sent in the evidence that was requested (sons birth certificate). After some delay (SFE deleting my changed application, website then not allowing me to resubmit, filling in paper forms, etc.) I received a letter saying I needed to send in proof of child benefit, which I did. The child benefit statement is in my partner name but names my son on there and is at our shared address. My partner is on statutory maternity pay, and she deals with all our household expenses - my student loan goes straight to her for bills etc.

I'm now being told that I can't get PLA because the £20 a week child benefit is in her name and not mine. HMRC have quoted 10 weeks to change the child benefit into my name, and then with the delay for SFE receiving/returning/processing the new document in my name I can safely add another 8 weeks on to that. I'll have graduated by then.

It seems a ridiculous system, and if I'd been told at the outset of the application that I'd need the child benefit to be in my name then I could have sorted that months and months ago. As it was I was only told I needed his birth certificate as evidence. SFE took several weeks to even process that after finally managing to process my application.

Is there any other way to sort this out without waiting months and months? If not then there's no point in me even bothering with it

ReputationRep:
    Any reply to this Mark?
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi Radiating,

Apologies for the delay in replying I wanted to check this with our assessing department before getting back to you.

Unfortunately your name needs to be on either the Child Benefit letter or a Tax Credit Award Notice, there's no way that we can award the PLA without this.