Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am currently a student In College and I will be attending University In September. I am in a dilema about my choices of courses so I thought it'd be good receiving others opinions. I have applied for a variety of courses General Computing, Computer Science and Computer Games Technology. The games course definitely interests me most however it is uncommon therefore I feel a bit undecisive. A lot of people doing Computing chooese Computer Science I'd like to know why, I would really prefer choosing the games technology degree but Is it seen as a good degree/potential jobs from the course?. If anyone who is on Computer Games Technology course can give me an insight of it and possibly people who have graduated and are now in a job.

ReputationRep:
    I do a game computing course, only first year but basically it's coding, maths and then more in depth look at computers and stuff that helps with coding.
    Of course you also do a lot of game design and looking into the games industry.

ReputationRep:
    Bump

ReputationRep:
    Hmm i asked lionhead (fable developers) about this a couple year backs, and this is what they replied:

Hi Josh,

I’m a programmer from Lionhead Studios. Thanks for your mail – it’s nice to see a programmer eager enough to seek advice! We get a few emails a year from students asking for help like you did, but usually it’s only artists. I don’t know why this is.

Before I answer your questions it might help to put my thoughts in some context: I’ve been in the industry for 4 years, Lionhead for 2. This kind of puts me in the “standard programmer” bracket – not junior, but not senior. Obviously there are a lot of guys and gals here with a lot more experience, but I think everyone is able to have an opinion on University education.