Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a year 12 student, hoping to study dentistry in universtiy. Unfortunately, due to ill health, I have been forced to take a year out of school and will, therefore, be repeating year 12 next year. I am currently studying Biology, Chemistry, Maths and French. I have completed the entire AS level for maths and am halfway through the A2 syllabus. My reason for taking the entire A2 in one year is that I understood that universities don't like it if you take one AS level before the others as it doesn';t show you can cope with pressure. I, therefore, reasoned that by taking the entire A2 this year, I will then have the capacity to take on another subject (history) when I return to school next year and, thereby, prove I can cope with the pressure of 4 subjects at once.
    Maths A2 is becoming increasingly difficult to teach myself and, although I think I might just be able to cope, I am starting to question the value in it Having scoured university webistes, it appears to me that the only compulsory A level requirements are biology and chemistry which I plan to continue to A2 anyway. My question, therefore, is as follows: if I decided to sit only the maths AS level this year and not continue with the A2 would I be jepardized in any way or is this not necessary? Truthfully, I am presuming universities will base my acceptance on the A levels I have taken in the same year, primarily: biology, chemistry, history and french. Would this combination (along with maths AS level this year) give me as good a chance as anyone else in acceptance?

Sorry for the essay. Hope I have made myself clear. Any responses would be greatly appreciated, sooner rather than later so I know whether I need to bother continuing with maths A2 or whether I can focus all my energies on the AS.
    Good luck to everyone taking exams this year

Poll
Should MenACWY vaccination be compulsory at uni?