Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    1. I am currently studying a 60 credit OU module and receiving a tuition fee loan from you for this. I am going to Uni this year in September, how will that loan effect my entitlement for my course? If I do a four year course, i.e. three years but with a placement year, will I still receive student finance for the full four years?

2. If my wife studies for a MA which is not covered by student finance how would this affect our entitlement? Would we receive a special support grant due to both being students? Would the adult dependents grant be removed? We have dependants and are currently both studying and not working.

3. I sent in the required evidence items a month ago for my application for September and they were returned approx two weeks ago. Your website says you are still awaiting the items you have returned - how long will it take to update my application and process it? I applied as soon as the applications were opened for 13/14.

Thanks!
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi Teacake,

1. Your entitlement to student finance for your new course will very much depend on the qualification that you will gain from the OU or the one that you currently hold.

If you have gained a qualification then our normal rules regarding previous study apply and you may only be entitled to maintenance loan and supplementary grants for some of your course.

2. As your wife will be an MA student you should qualify for the Special Support Grant as long as she can provide evidence that she is a student. In this scenario the Adult Dependent Grant will be removed.