Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Got a bit of a dilemma and wanted to ask what you would all do in the same position.
    I've got an offer to do an Access course starting Sept and afterwards I'm wanting to do Early Childhood Studies at university. I'm also a qualified nursery nurse so am 100% sure that this is what I want to do. I chose this year to start originally because my eldest child would be starting comprehensive school and my youngest will be starting primary school. However, this is where my dilemma begins!

Firstly, I'm 35 so don't want to leave going to uni for too much longer. I left school in 1993 with 5 gcse's at c or above including 2xC's in English Lang/lit and double award C in science, however I only got an E in maths.

I decided that I wouldn't start the Access course this year and do gcse maths at an adult education centre first then start the Access next year. However, after contacting both the universities I want to go to I don't actually need the maths gcse because I have functional skills level 2 and one of the universities will accept 12 level 2 maths credits from the access course.

Basically what I'm asking is would you start the Access this year then go to uni next or is it still worth doing the gcse maths for a year and re-apply for the Access course next year??

I know nobody can tell me what to do but in the same situation what would you do??????

Thanks people x

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Why would you do the GSCE Maths? You don't need it for uni and presumably you don't need it to get a place on the Access course.

What advantage do you think the GCSE Maths would give you, when the unis think that the Access course will give you maths skills to an equivalent level (as long as you get the marks they specify)?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Klix88)