Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, I'm new to TSR so I don't know if i'm in the right forums.
    I really want to do Business Law (or Business with Law) and go on to become a solicitor or barrister but I don't know if im even good enough to be able to compete with other people, I'm currently doing my As Levels which is Business Studies, Law and Media Studies. I do know that media studies seems a bit irrelevant but I really like the subject but I don't really know if i'm good enough to get into uni. Should I also take an additional next year if I've done well enough to be able to continue?

ReputationRep:
    If you want to be a solicitor or barrister you need really good A Level results, like AAB and above to get in to the best universities. It really matters what university you go to if you want to get anywhere in Law.

As well as this, you need to make sure that the course is a qualifying law degree as, if it isn't, you won't be able to be a solicitor or barrister. (It will tell you on programme specifications online whether a course is a qualifying law degree or not).

If you don't have great A Levels (Example you got BBC or something) you would need work experience (within a legal setting such as in a law firm, or with the CAB etc) and a strong personal statement to push your application.

Law is a pretty hard subject. Not hard, perhaps that is the wrong word. It can be rather boring and, if you aren't really into it, you can easily fail. As you HAVE to sit seven certain modules in order for the degree to be a qualifying law degree.

I studied A Level Law and it was a breeze compared to a law degree. A Level is about describe this and that, whereas degree is more about criticising what people have said and so forth.