Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

LDR and university - finding it hard Watch

ReputationRep:
    I thought I'd post on TSR as you're all pretty wise. I am a rare student who hates going home for the holidays. Easter/Summer is awful. My boyfriend lives in South Wales and I go to university in Southampton and I'm in my second year but I come from North Devon so clearly, seeing my boyfriend is much easier when I'm in university. I can usually see him every other week and sometimes every weekend if I'm lucky when I'm here as the trains are good.

The thought of going home over the holidays depresses me because there are a lack of jobs so working over the summer at home is hit and miss and I won't see my boyfriend for weeks at a time.

I have no friends at home due to some relationships falling apart and back stabbing friends. All of my friends are either based in South Wales or in Southampton. I'm applying for some summer jobs with WJEC to be with my boyfriend in his home town for a few months but I'm not that confident about getting the job.

Don't get me wrong, I kinda like my home life but in short chunks. I don't enjoy being nagged as I feel too old to be nagged and I like living independently. I just find myself longing for my boyfriend. (we've been together near enough three years). If he lived in my home town, I would be okay. I'm feeling really down. I was wondering if anyone was in the same position. This LDR stuff is so hard.

TL;DR VERSION: Long distance relationships suck and I feel depressed about it. Please share your sage wisdom.

ReputationRep: