Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am (Grades permitting) going to LSE to study politics and philosophy this year, with an offer of AAA. I have an offer from Manchester (AAB) for PPE as my insurance, so I need to get at least AAB this year to go to uni. Anyway, last year I got AAAA in politics, philosophy, history and English lit: I was a typical arts student, with no clue about maths. So this year, I picked up AS maths to help with my PPE applications. In receiving my results today - an A in politics, but more crucially only 37 marks, or a U, in maths, I'm not quite sure what to do.

Do i decide to drop maths (safe in the knowledge that I have no natural aptitude in the subject, and will probably never do very well), carry on with my three A2 subjects and use my new found free time to try and get my predicted grades (A*A*A)? Or do I resit the U in C1, hope to do a lot better in the summer, and hopefully come out with the A I wanted, but possibly at the risk of somewhat neglecting my A2 studies?

Any advice would be amazingly appreciated, as I have no idea what to do at all!

ReputationRep:
    Is getting an AS in maths any benefit to you other than being able to say you've done it? I'm guessing none of your offers need it? C1 and C2 are usually a similar difficulty, but depending on what applied module you choose it could get more difficult. Having said that, I know people who got a U in C1 then turned it round to Bs in the resit and June exam, only 6 months later - they did put a lot of work into it though.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jack976)