Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I graduated last summer with a 4.0/4 in BSc Business from a university in the UK, however the university is currently ranked around the 60 mark(in uk). I am 22 and want to complete an MBA at a top 3 business school, preferably hbs, by the time I am 30. However I feel that because my undergrad university isn't that highly ranked it may hinder my chances, providing everything else, GMAT etc is top notch.

I have the opportunity to do a masters in international business at a top 20 UK university this September. I want to know if this is a waste of time or should I continue working and get the experience. I am currently production manager in my family business, which has a turnover of $2million and is growing fast. I currently lead a team of 10 people and is set to double over the next year. So I have a great opportunity now to demonstrate leadership skills etc.

So considering I ace the GMAT, and with my other qualities, which include grade 8 guitar, fluent in german and 1st dan black belt in karate in which I represented my university at a national championsips and won gold, is doing the masters worth it or will my undergrad university be fine for hbs?

Also there are students currently doing an MBA at Harvard who have graduated from the university that I have the opportunity to do the masters at, therefore I know for certain that it is reputable enough for hbs.

Thanks,
    Jay

ReputationRep:
    i got a first, I put this on a US forum looking for advice and had to put up the equivalent to their gpa. So change the $2mil turnover to £1.3mil and is that all or does the rest of it sound like bull**** as well?

ReputationRep:
    If he got firsts across all his modules that would come out as a 4.0 GPA. If he didn't get a first in everything it would be less. OP, you do realise that just getting a first overall is not the same as a 4.0?