Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

Self conscious wearing makeup in public Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello girls,
    looking for some helpful advice please!
    Im a rookie when it comes to applying and wearing makeup. Although I feel Im getting the hang of it all and it looks okay in the mirror once applied, I feel too self conscious to go out in public wearing it Im scared Ill look totally different under the different lighting conditions and that my makeup will look like its been done with a makeup gun lol.
    I feel that everyone will be looking and staring at me.....

ReputationRep:
    If you're more comfortable going without make-up I would say keep doing what you're doing! I struggle to leave the house without foundation & mascara lately and it's really a habit I wish I hadn't gotten into. I love make-up but once you start using it regularly it does become a bit of a crutch, well for me it definitely has. It's a bit of a pain!

But if you really want to use it the rule I always follow is less is more. Foundation, powder, blush etc is all build able - it's much harder to take it off if you get it wrong so I always start with a very light coverage and build it up. Also, check it in different lighting. My bedroom has pretty horrendous lighting so I always check it in the bathroom, and in the hallway mirror before I leave. Probably a bit excessive but yeh, that's me.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks Samz. Ive always been happy enough without it all, but my sisters getting married in a few months so I feel compelled to wear it to look decent. This is me just practicing it now lol.
    I dont plan on going daft with make up. Some powder foundation, blush, eyeshadow and lipstick should do the trick

ReputationRep:
    bump

ReputationRep:
    You could always ask a friend to get ready with you; that way you can get a second opinion before you brave the public and she could also give you a few pointers if needed!