Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Evening all,
    This is rather embarrassing, but I'm a first year undergrad chemistry student and I'm really struggling with some of the maths in my course. I never took A-Level maths (which I'm seriously regretting now) which definitely doesn't help matters.

Are there any books or web sources that you could suggest for me, or people I could talk to about properly learning what I'm doing?

I'd need the books to be really clear, and start from a fairly basic level so I can follow it to at least the level of maths I'm doing at the moment (differential equations, power series, complex numbers and vectors). Even if there are A-Level maths books which you think may help, suggest them as well, I'll try anything to help make me understand it.

I've already tried seeing some people at the uni, but I still have trouble understanding the most of it. Also I have a couple of books, but the don't always help (currently have Maths for Chemists by Monk and Munro as well as Maths for Chemists Vol 1 & 2 by Cockett & Doggett)

Any recommendations that anyone could make would be greatly appreciated. I really need to nail the maths behind it all, which I'm currently not doing.

Thank you.

P.S. I know this may seem like a more chemistry-based thread, but I hope that any mathematicians could suggest things from past experience etc.
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ManicMetalhead)
    Evening all,
    This is rather embarrassing, but I'm a first year undergrad chemistry student and I'm really struggling with some of the maths in my course. I never took A-Level maths (which I'm seriously regretting now) which definitely doesn't help matters.

Are there any books or web sources that you could suggest for me, or people I could talk to about properly learning what I'm doing?