Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

English Literature AS: Struggle For Identity In Modern Literature. Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm new here, so I'm really not sure how things work, but I am currently studying this as one of my A-Levels, and my exam is in 3 months time, I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice (ideally someone who has taken this exam and has knowledge in this subject area please),
    for the 45 mark question, (roughly 45 minutes should be spent on this), how should I divide my time? So far, my exam plan is this:
    5 minutes at start mind map on wider reading examples I have that are similar, and then 5 mins on contrasting examples,
    15 mins writing about the actual extract given, writing about the time frame in which it was presented, how readers from our age intrepret it, and how readers/viewers of that era interpreted it, what has changed since then.
    Final time writing about wider reading in depth.

So, can anyone suggest a better/improved way to use my time wisely (I'm only really worried about this part of the paper, so please don't worry about the other parts, it's just section A!)

ReputationRep:
    I'm having the same problem

ReputationRep:
    I did the AS lit exam and from what I can remember the exam is two hours long right?
    because the way I did it is spend 50 mins on each section (for ten minutes reading and planning) and then write the essay - of course how you spend your time depends on how organised you are mentally and if you're good at reading and writing.

My advice is to put more thought into the structure of your essay rather than the time plan. So for example
    Intro: What is the text about/ who wrote it/ how are they struggling for identity/ why are they? basically, context