Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi, hoping someone who is doing this degree can help me out, Im looking at doing a degree in the design area, leaning towards a graphic artist style of design -

The OU pathway for this appears to be preset in a multitude of art/art history modules, leaving me to think it is a very general art degree, is this right or can I specialize in design in a technological sense, such as graphic design or web/multimedia design?

And also, does a design and innovation degree from OU have promising potential for employment?

Im thinking a brilliant portfolio and a first would be very strong to becoming employed but am just unsure of how general the design degree is?

Any help greatly appreciated

ReputationRep:
    I can probably help with this one - I actually already have an art degree, and I'm currently an OU student doing an Open Degree made up of the Design parts of the Design and Innovation degree, mashed up with Creative Writing (Design and Innovation: Creative Writing pathway, if you will).

If you were to do the Design and Innovation degree, then the design bits would be the same whichever pathway you picked. The Arts pathway would combine it with art history/liberal arts type modules (lots of essays); the engineering pathway with engineering modules (lots of maths), and so on. Whichever pathway you picked, the other modules that you'd do would be things that formed part of other pathways on other degrees (e.g. you'd study those alongside engineers or history of art students or whatever, and people like me doing mix-and-match Open Degrees...)