Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

Any grads from the year 2010 still not in permanent employment? Watch

ReputationRep:
    As the title, any grads from the year 2010 still not in perm employment? I've only been able to get temp jobs (nothing perm). I've had 2 temp jobs, a course in pc maintenance and am doing voluntary maths tutoring every weekend. That's my last 2.5 years right there. :eek:

Finding it nigh impossible to get a permanent job/onto any grad scheme. I got 4A's at a-level and a 2:1 in geophysics from ucl and 9A/A*'s at GCSE. Seriously thinking about emigrating somewhere with better job prospects - the UK is awful :eek:

P.S. before you jump on the "you think you're too good for normal jobs" bandwagon, I've been rejected from ASDA, cleaning jobs, and a host of jobs from across the spectrum. The only job interviews i'm getting are for data admin jobs for which i have 2 years experience, but even then...when they find out i have a geophysics degree they don't want me!

ReputationRep:
    so, everyone who graduated in 2010 has a permanent job?

ReputationRep:
    What about applying to accounting/finance jobs/civil service , what fields are you looking at
    • PS Helper
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rock_climber86)
    so, everyone who graduated in 2010 has a permanent job?
    Yes, the fact that nobody replied within half an hour on a Sunday morning is definitive. :giggle:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by daindian)
    What about applying to accounting/finance jobs/civil service , what fields are you looking at
    i got rejected from a few finance/accountancy jobs and my heart doesnt really lie there so not really seriously applying. As for civil service, there are no jobs on the civil service website i seem experienced enough for.

Looking into pretty much any field but concentrating on energy sector, catastrophe modelling and data entry/admin.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: