Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying A2 AQA English language B.

I just want to know whether it would be possible for me to get an A*.

At AS I got 163/200 which is just over the A boundary.

For the January 2013 exam I got 106/120 which equates to about 88%.

We are doing our coursework now which has to be in by Easter. The mark for this is out of 80.

So the total A Level is out of 400, for which the A* requires 360/400. At the moment, my total UMS obtained is 269, so even if I manage to get full marks for coursework (which I'm doubtful) I would still be 11 UMS off the A*.

But then in our school planner it states that to get the A* we must average 80% over AS + A2 (which I have so far) and 90% over A2. For an average of 90% at A2 I would need at least 72/80 in coursework which I think would be achievable for me.

So how does this A* business work? because if I average 90% at A2 I will still not have 360/400 for the total A Level.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    For an A* you need an A grade (80%) across the whole two years, plus 90% UMS in your A2. You don't necessarily need 90% across the whole A level.

Since you got 106/120 in your first exam you would need 74/80 in your coursework to get an A* (assuming you don't have another exam in the summer?) - this would total 180/200 for the second year.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Theflyingbarney)
    For an A* you need an A grade (80%) across the whole two years, plus 90% UMS in your A2. You don't necessarily need 90% across the whole A level.

Since you got 106/120 in your first exam you would need 74/80 in your coursework to get an A* (assuming you don't have another exam in the summer?) - this would total 180/200 for the second year.
    Thank you very much! I didn't think it would be possible for me to get an A*.

So I don't need 360/400 overall? Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kimsiclez)