The Student Room Group

Picking yourself up/getting out of the hole you're in...

----
(edited 10 years ago)
Hey I'm sorry to hear what you're going through. Please stay strong. Does the therapy help at all? I know its easy to say, but try your best to carry on. Try eating food you like, and try changing your mindset. Constantly tell yourself that it will be okay, and try your best to have a positive attitude on a day to day basis. I think you should tell someone what you're going through, possibly a relative that you're close with. If not, keep going to therapy and let it all out. Its good to release your emotions rather than keeping them bottled up. You could write them in a diary, or express them through drawings. I am no expert, but I really hope my advice helps and I wish you the best.
I can honestly tell you that this will get better. I myself suffered from a severe depression for some time, but I've been very well for over 1,5 years now and no longer see my therapist. At that time I thought the same as you - I am mad at myself, I do not function properly, I slept at weird hours and had to defer my exams, I drank at some points and felt lonely, useless, didn't enjoy anything at all, didn't feel anything at all, which was worst.