Join TSR now and chat about whatever you’re intoSign up now

Sheffield Heavy Metal scene Watch

ReputationRep:
    Is there one?
    I'm an international student and the last time I visited UK I was 13, so I wouldn't really know.
    I'm not talking about festivals or major concerts though, just about its underground music scene. Because, where I live (Karachi, its a city in Pakistan), we have lots of gigs and local bands playing here and there, and I really don't want to give all that up.
    Of course, I wouldn't want to miss out on a proper concert especially LOG's or Black Dahlia's or even Killswitch's (i'm actually saving money incase I have to FLY to one) but I've always found something strangely 'mystifying' about underground gigs. I'm not really a nightclub person, so my university choice might largely depend on the number of metalheads rather than reputation It seems that some areas have a more dominant music scene than others though, atleast in my country.
    But most people seem to only talk about Sheffield's nightclubs and such, so I'm just wondering...

ReputationRep:
    Leeds has a great scene like that. I'll be attending this year, and the metal scene was quite the deciding factor for me.

I can't comment for sheffield, but there is one great metal/rock bar, Corporation there.

Although you mentioned underground gigs,i can't comment for those either.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by OnwardstoVictory)
    Leeds has a great scene like that. I'll be attending this year, and the metal scene was quite the deciding factor for me.

I can't comment for sheffield, but there is one great metal/rock bar, Corporation there.

Although you mentioned underground gigs,i can't comment for those either.
    I was going to apply to Leeds too! But I'm doing psychology and I didn't meet their O level maths requirement so had to forget about it. But, congratulations!