Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

Weight training beginner, need advice? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I just bought a gym membership and i am going to start and take the gym and healthy eating really seriously. Around a year ago i was on and off with using weights in my room, only little dumbbells, nothing serious.

Anyways i have a basic training program that i would like some advice and help with as i my main goal for the next 6-8 months will be to bulk up.

Stats: I am currently 5'11, 134lbs and can only bench around a weak 80lbs, 30lbs with dumbbells. I am basically very weak at the minute and would really appreciate some advice in terms of a good routine to gain muscle mass quick as well as good nutritional foods that would maximize results. i understand i am new to this and the routine below may not be the best, but i have done research and i was thinking about this:

Monday - Chest

Flat DB Press - 8 reps 3 sets
    Incline Bench Press - 8 reps 3 sets
    Chest fly's - 10 reps 3 sets
    Weighted Push Ups - Failure
    (Maybe a machine exercise also, pec deck?)

Tuesday - Back

Barbell Rows - 8 reps 3 sets
    Lat Pulldown - 8 reps 3 sets
    Dumbell Rows - 8 reps 3 sets
    Wide Grip Chin Ups - Failure

Wednesday - Shoulders

Dumbbell Shoulder Press - 8 reps 3 sets
    Lateral Raises - 8 reps 3 sets
    Front Raises with plate - 8 reps 3 sets
    Upright Row - 8 reps 3 sets
    Shrugs - 10 reps 3 sets

Thursday - Legs

Squats - Not sure on correct sets and reps, never performed one before but know it is essential for a good overall physique.
    Leg Press - 10 reps 3 sets
    Leg Extension - 10 reps 3 sets

Friday - Arms

Standing Barbell Bicep Curl - 8 reps 3 sets
    Skull Crushers - 8 reps 3 sets
    Preacher Curls - 8 reps 3 sets
    Hammer Curls - 8 reps 3 sets
    Close Grip Tricep Bench Press - 8 reps 3 sets
    Tricep Pulldown - 10 reps 3 sets
    Pull Ups - Failure

Weekends - Rest