Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I am incredibly desperate to get into Plymouth to study Media Arts in September. I have the offer which I received back in December; 280 points (BBC). However, I think I will really struggle to meet that; 260 is incredibly possible, but I think one grade higher is pushing it a little and I'm really quite scared that I will miss it by one grade.

Anyway, I know some universities are happy to accept people that get one grade below if the course isn't full, or if they get an amazing grade in that particular subject etc. Although I'm not counting on this and trying really hard for my BBC, I would really like to make this possibility more accessible, just in case.

So, anyone - do you think it's worth writing to/emailing Plymouth? Not to beg, not to bargain the offer... just to show off what I can do. I am a great media student and I know it, but I'm not so great at my other subjects. For example, I am aiming for a top A in my media coursework at the moment - is it worth writing to the tutor perhaps to show off my skill with my coursework as evidence, meanwhile complimenting the university?

Like I said, I'm incredibly desperate to go to Plymouth.

Any help appreciated.

P.S. please take uni choice into account... I'm not talking a top/impossible to get to uni here, but they are quite credited for their media areas.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't write to them or do anything at all. A part of the admissions process is being able to show that you're a mature person who can handle success and failure, not a childish one who tries to show off to tutors for bonus points. Play it by the book; you'll have a better chance of getting in.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    No, don't do that. Your personal statement was the chance to show them how amazing you are, and your reference should have backed that up.

Sent from my GT-S5363

ReputationRep: