Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I dropped out of University at the start of January and now work full time in retail.
    I'm considering studying for a degree part time because I don't want to go back to University full time and would like to keep working full time.

I'm thinking a Business related degree would be the best way forward. Would employers look at me more favourably if I did a degree with the Open University, or a part time degree at a brick Uni nearby?

ReputationRep:
    OU degrees are generally well though of, so unless the nearby brick uni has some huge edge (e.g. it has an amazing reputation for you subject, or whatever) then I'd say there's no great difference.

It's probably worth thinking a bit about what would work best for you study-wise - OU study is really flexible (e.g. no need to attend lectures; study whenever and wherever suits you) but requires you to motivate yourself and work well independently; going to a brick uni would give you face-to-face contact with your lecturers and fellow students, but might affect when you could work, job-wise (e.g. lectures might happen at not very convenient or consistent times).

ReputationRep:
    what is brick uni?
    how can I know its reputation for a specific subject?
    thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by foreverabsent)
    Would employers look at me more favourably if I did a degree with the Open University, or a part time degree at a brick Uni nearby?
    Well, I've studied with the Open University and I've recently been told that the OU is ranked in the top 40 universities in the UK.

Unless the brick uni. is ranked higher than the OU then from an academic perspective you'd be far better off with the OU.