Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I'm looking for a summer job between graduation and starting a PGCE in September. I'm unsure of the best places to look, however - I've looked through several job websites but it's hard to filter down vacancies to jobs that will take me on temporarily over the summer. I've never worked before so does anyone have any advice?

ReputationRep:
    *bump*

Would really appreciate some useful advice - I'm a novice when it comes to this sort of thing.
    • Community Assistant
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TheBritishArmy)
    Hi all, I'm looking for a summer job between graduation and starting a PGCE in September. I'm unsure of the best places to look, however - I've looked through several job websites but it's hard to filter down vacancies to jobs that will take me on temporarily over the summer. I've never worked before so does anyone have any advice?

You need to look for something seasonal and touristy.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TheBritishArmy)
    Seeing as you're starting a PGCE it would be great to work with kids! How about looking into working at a summer club for children? This is obviously seasonal work as they are at school during term time so the job would just be over the summer
    Also, the day nursery that I used to work at took on students over the summer so the main staff could go on holiday. I know the children would be a bit younger than the age you'd be teaching but it's all valuable experience and it can be fun too!