Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone out there had experience studying an MA Creative Writing (or closely related subject)? I've applied to MMU and am pretty excited about the whole thing. Additionally, I'd love to hear from any MMU postgrads about their experience with the uni, course etc.

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by natty883)
    [...] I was wondering if anyone out there had experience studying an MA Creative Writing (or closely related subject)? I've applied to MMU and am pretty excited about the whole thing. Additionally, I'd love to hear from any MMU postgrads about their experience with the uni, course etc.

Cheers
    I did an English degree at MMU, and took creative writing units in my first and second years. If postgraduate study is similar to my undergraduate experience then I could not imagine a bigger waste of money and time than 'studying' creative writing. In fact, unless you have no money concerns, it is hard to justify studying any arts and humanities subject at the moment.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by evantej)
    I did an English degree at MMU, and took creative writing units in my first and second years. If postgraduate study is similar to my undergraduate experience then I could not imagine a bigger waste of money and time than 'studying' creative writing. In fact, unless you have no money concerns, it is hard to justify studying any arts and humanities subject at the moment.
    Haha, you have a fair point. I've already done an undergrad degree in creative writing though so I'm afraid I'm set on the decision. Plan to do my PhD in it too, eventually...

Can I ask, did you study at the All Saints or Crewe campus? And how did you find the quality of teaching at MMU, overall?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by natty883)