Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Ok so I'm new here, I joined this site because I found a lot of answers to my questions on here in the past and now I want to ask some myself.

I'm 19 and have decided I want to go to university, I have always been the vocational type but really not by choice, my dad sort of pressured me into joining his marine engineering business in Brazil when I was in year 11 which meant leaving and not quite getting my gcse's ( missed exams by like a week ). So there on I was a marine engineer, eventually returned to the uk and joined the navy as a marine engineer, completed my training and was on the verge of medical discharge from and injury when my step father died, which brought a swift end to that.

with few options left I found out about the Access courses, I applied to science and health related professions and intend on choosing biology and chemistry, I would really like to study neuroscience at university. I will be starting the course in September hopefully.

So with everything put into perspective here are my questions.

- am I likely to be accepted at a reasonably good university given i achieve the credits required?
    - will I be eledgible for funding to cover the costs of my course (£815 I believe). I don't have a levels so I should be able to do it for free?
    - are access students entitled to student loans to cover the costs of uni?
    - do we have the same rights to accommodation?
    - Is having a job at university vital or just an advantage? (Obviously I would get one as soon as possible)
    - Is food affordable with leftover loan if spent wisely?

Any other help or advice would be massively appreciated as I am clueless right now and unsure as to weather I will be able to afford it, I will have zero help from parents. I was filled with questions the other day but right now I'm tired and can't think, thanks in advance x

ReputationRep: