Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

So I'm in my first year at uni and I have barley any close friends at uni and it's starting to become lonely.

Before anyone says "join a society", I have looked into societies, and none interest me enough to join (I won't go, if I don't like what's going on) because we have barely any at my uni

I find it hard to just 'make friends'. I've made a close friend with one of my flat mates, but she can be flimsy sometimes and we always seem to do what she wants. She's made a number of friends, and usually does stuff with them, I don't get invited because it seems like it's just members of her course that do.

It's difficult making friends with people on my course because they are all locals and knew each other before uni. where as I'm from miles and miles away.

It's getting depressing, especially as I'll make plans with my flat mate and then she'll drop them for her ex/other friends sometimes.

I used to date this local guy (for about a month) so I had the option of hanging out with him, but that ended so now I have no one.

I'd love to meet some non-university friends, but I think it would look sad if I went to gigs/pubs on my own. What can I do? :/

Do you have somewhere to live in second year? I would wheat until then because then you'll have another chance to try out societies (I know you've already written them off, but I'd reconsider)

apart from that, do you get to talk to people on your course often? I don't think where you're from should matter tbh. As you get closer to exams it could be easier to talk to your coursepals, about work at first, but you know how conversations go. You might even be able to set up some kind of group revision sessions together, which could be amaizeing for making friends (suffering brings people together, even if it's just the pain of revision)

(Original post by + polarity -)