Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently doing a degree at Birmingham University in Law. I'm starting to have doubts about whether its worth continuing. Afterall Law is a degree that is massively oversubscribed too.

I have friends who have gone into other careers such as an electrician. There a couple of years older than me, and because we have an oversubscription for proffessional careers, there is consequently a shortage of people in these types of careers, i.e. plumber.

My friend who is now 21 is earning 70 k as an electrician. Thats more than double what the average graduate earns.

You may be saying well, its about the type of job you do not the money. I couldn't agree with you more. However whilst i'm at university accumulating debt, he's out there earning his 70k a year and starting to invest it in property already. He hopes to become a property agent. Well looks like he's on his way.

Ill probably stick it out, after all it brings security, and job prospects are good on the whole.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by merob)
    I'm currently doing a degree at Birmingham University in Law. I'm starting to have doubts about whether its worth continuing. Afterall Law is a degree that is massively oversubscribed too.

I have friends who have gone into other careers such as an electrician. There a couple of years older than me, and because we have an oversubscription for proffessional careers, there is consequently a shortage of people in these types of careers, i.e. plumber.

My friend who is now 21 is earning 70 k as an electrician. Thats more than double what the average graduate earns.