Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hello I'm currently studying French, Psychology, Sociology and Religious Studies at AS Level.

I want to be a primary school teacher in the future and I would like to go to university to do so, I'm predicted A's and B's in my a levels so hopefully I will be able to get in to University to study education, however I'm a bit unsure of what kind of course I should take?

I live in Nottingham but I do not want to stay in Nottingham for university, I've looked at course such as BA (Honours) Education Studies (ucas code x300) at places such as Sheffield Hallam, Leeds Met and Manchester Met and was wondering if this is the right type of course to take in order to become a primary school teacher? Or should i take a course such as BA (Honours) Primary Education with Qualified Teacher Status (ucas code x120)?

I'm really unsure whether i should take a course that comes with QTS or take a course without and do a pgce afterwards? If you do a course with QTS included do you still have to do a pgce?
    Would appreciate advice from anyone who is at university, training to become a primary school teacher or has reached that level already!

Also I do have a lot of work experience in primary schools already and have booked to do about 3 more weeks worth this year. I will also be doing more work experience next year so I don't think I'll have a problem with not having enough work experience.

Also if anyone is currently studying a course similar to this and are planning to become a primary school teacher, what university are you at how good is your course? Would you recommend?

ReputationRep: