Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

Currently doing A Levels, finding things hard Watch

Hi, I'm just wondering whether the way I'm feeling at the moment is normal.. I've got my A2 exams coming up and am under pressure to get high grades (AAB); I'm studying demanding subjects and just haven't been doing as well recently... I sit down to work and can't concentrate. I feel worried almost constantly about exams, how I appear to others etc. I snap easily at my family, this makes me feel guilty and even worse - I just can't see past these exams which I feel as if I'm going to fail, I basically just feel constantly worried and down a lot of the time. The thing is, I really shouldn't! I've got stuff planned in the summer and have great friends and family. I know most find A levels stressful but I feel unhappy and just can't see how I'm ever going to get the grades I need... I don't know if this stems from A levels or other things. But I really should be happy??

ReputationRep:
    Yes and no. When it gets really close to the exams, like a month-two weeks before, I always end up like this. I'm angry at everyone, I feel like I'm dying if I don't have coffee, if a mate comes round I end up getting really agitated knowing I should be revising, I constantly feel like I'm going to do bad, and I feel reallyyyy guilty if I'm not revising.

But not this early! One thing you might have (which I'm 99.99% I had last year) is something called 'test anxiety'. It's an actual mental disorder, which can be common when you're in a situation like this and having so much on your plate. I kept getting this horrible guilty feeling out of the blue, like if I was watching tele or if I was lay in bed, and my heart would be going a million miles an hour, even thought my head was completely calm. I'd sit there proper chilled telling my body to stop it, because it's gonna be fine haha. But of course it wouldn't listen.