Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

Best way to learn a language? Watch

ReputationRep:
    During this upcoming summer I am determined to improve my french and spanish conversational ability - I want to aim to become fluent.

I studied french and spanish during secondary school but I have not used either since ( in 3 odd years), so I know the knowledge is in my head somewhere but my main concern on top of this is learning new vocabulary.

So say I had 3 months to become fluent conversationally, I know that there are many many ways to learn a language - but which is the most efficient given my history? Perhaps watching movies? listening to lessons? watching cartoons? using PC software? Any advice would be great!
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    Live there. No substitute.

Otherwise, read and listen to as much as you possibly can, use a grammar book on the side so you understand the mechanics.
    • Very Important Poster
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Expose yourself to the language as much as possible. Listening to music in the foreign language will help you.

Edit: alongside other things, of course
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    As everyone else has said, there is nothing better than being totally immersed in a language. That's how you learnt your native language as a baby.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by roh)
    Live there. No substitute.

Otherwise, read and listen to as much as you possibly can, use a grammar book on the side so you understand the mechanics.
    (Original post by SecretDuck)
    Expose yourself to the language as much as possible. Listening to music in the foreign language will help you.

Edit: alongside other things, of course
    (Original post by Chlorophile)
    As everyone else has said, there is nothing better than being totally immersed in a language. That's how you learnt your native language as a baby.