Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

I'm a non-law student looking to do a conversion to law, or to take a masters in Legal Science, preferably in London.

I currently study at Queen's University Belfast and I'm looking to move from here to be able to go into English law (the courses here are Northern Irish law). I'd preferably like to take a masters in a legal area because as far as I'm aware it doesn't give you the security of an academic grade, just a springboard into training. Given the cost, I think I'd like to have an academic qualification as well.

Does anyone have any ideas on where I could do this, or is anyone in the same situation?
    Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

You should be able to do the GDL (Graduate Diploma in Law) look this up, its a postgrad course and you wouldn't need a degree in Law. You would then need to do Legal Practice Course to be a Solicitor, or Bar Vocational Course to become a Lawyer. I am considering doing this, as I have a 2:1 in non law subject and I'm thinking of doing a postgraduate course. I don't know what you'd be able to do with a MA in legal science, bear in mind you don't even need a law degree to become a Lawyer. Hope this helps.

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys! Am thinking of doing this also but I have assumed that my only option was the 2 year llb accelerated course as my option? But you say you can do it in 1 year? Is the gdl the sane as the llb accelerated? And then 1 years legal practice?

Was looking to do it in Scotland, but happy to go south if I have too.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by marma-duke)
    Hello!

I'm a non-law student looking to do a conversion to law, or to take a masters in Legal Science, preferably in London.