Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

Required Action needed to become a Barrister Watch

ReputationRep:
    Ok so im studying Law and in first year, and wish to become a barrister. Can anyone currently with the same goals, or have become a barrister please offer some guidance is to things i should be doing in terms of work experience, extra cirricular activities which can enhance my future application, obviously alongside a strong degree result.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Mooting and debating are important at this stage, and carry on doing it, get as heavily involved in your University Law Soc as you can. You could also try to get some work experience in either solicitors or through mini-pupillages; however a lot of chambers don't take on mini-pupils before third year so you'll have to look around. You could also volunteer at the CAB, or some other pro-bono organisation.

The only issue really is the vast majority of pupillage applicants will have done all of this, so you really need to stand out and have some interesting life experiences. You might not get it straight out of University- pupillage is a long game and an awful lot of successful applicants are at least 25+.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ajh1990)
    Mooting and debating are important at this stage, and carry on doing it, get as heavily involved in your University Law Soc as you can. You could also try to get some work experience in either solicitors or through mini-pupillages; however a lot of chambers don't take on mini-pupils before third year so you'll have to look around. You could also volunteer at the CAB, or some other pro-bono organisation.

The only issue really is the vast majority of pupillage applicants will have done all of this, so you really need to stand out and have some interesting life experiences. You might not get it straight out of University- pupillage is a long game and an awful lot of successful applicants are at least 25+.