Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

ReputationRep:
    I'm not sure if this actually goes here, but I'll just go with it.

First off, I'd like to point out that I'm a student from the land of maple syrup (Canada). Just in case anyone finds my writing weird (...I don't know).

Basically, I need help deciding what to do with my university career. I think I may have gone into the wrong field and I'm stuck.

Here's my life's story:
    During my first year, I screwed up my GPA because I (believe) couldn't transition well from high school. No matter how much I studied, I could not do well. I would just blank out on every single midterm. As a result I got put on probation (lucky me). This year, I've raised my marks and now I'm doing pretty well on most of my courses. The thing is, it's gotten to the point where I really dislike my university and I now believe that most people in my program are huge dicks -- I'm probably generalizing. I also wish I picked something more creative than business. I feel like I don't fit in, everyone has their heads up their asses, and I'm having a hard time finding my crowd (which is not really that important). In conclusion, overall, I feel unhappy, lost and unsatisfied.

The reason why I'm hesitating is because:

1. My transcript would mostly show my first year grades, and I would definitely not get accepted onto another program at a different university.

2. I'm already 20. I know people say "it's never too late" to do anything. I believe it, but my pride is getting in the way and I would feel terrible watching all my friends graduate before me.

3. The first 2 years are general and I can't help but feel that maybe it will get better (my major is marketing).

4. My only option is to go to college for 3 years and then switch to university. OR wait until I'm 21 so I can apply as a mature student.

5. I feel like I'm disappointing my parents.

My problems don't seem so big after writing them down.