Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Now it's been almost nine years since I graduated from LSE (BSc Management). I open this thread just to share my experience. During my last university year I applied to a dozen of employers (strategic consulting, financial consulting and investment consulting), but didn't get any invitations for interviews. None. Pay attention 2004 was a not a bad year for the economy, the credit crunch wasn't even contemplated back then.

Just in case: I'm not a UK citizen, so I required a work-permit to get employed in the UK, but thousands of graduates got them then: employers applied on their behalf and that was not an issue at all, once the employer wanted you. Now the situation is more stringent, afaik.

In August 2004 I left for my home country, and within a month I was employed with KPMG in my city.

Interesting enough, that until now I don't know what exactly was the reason driving HRs to reject my CV. Being a foreign national? No, as stated above, loads of graduates succeeded to get work permits. Expected honours was not 1st (it was 2nd actually)? Well, who cares when it's LSE! Poorly prepared CV? No, I got my CV reviewed by someone with a long work experience, who tried to make it attractive - and only afterwards I began to apply.

Till now, I am in doubt. Had I been employed by some bank in the City or a consultancy, my life would have been completely different now.

And, just as a warning - a degree from a top-ranking college doesn't guarantee you anything, as it turns out.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cholom)

And, just as a warning - a diploma of a top-ranking college doesn't guarantee you anything, as it turns out.
    You mean you didn't get the degree (2:1)? I think it's why you were not able to secure an interview.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Londonburger)
    You mean you didn't get the degree (2:1)? I think it's why you were not able to secure an interview.