Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying maths, further maths, physics and german for AS levels. I plan to apply for Computer Science at university, hopefully Oxford, and I was wondering if I should drop German next year? Would Oxford, and other universities prefer me to have four A levels, or three AS levels with possibly better grades? Should I focus on trying t get more A*s, and drop German, or should I keep it and end up getting something like A*AAA?
    So basically I'm asking what looks better, A*A*A or A*AAA?
    I'd appreciate any advice, thanks

ReputationRep:
    Universities typically ask for 3 A levels and 1 As level, so, it is expected for you to drop 1 A level.

ReputationRep:
    I studied Maths, Further Maths Chemistry and Physics at AS and im still doing all 4.

If ur managing with the work load then i would carry on with all four, especially as the overlap between fmaths and maths is quite large so the work load isnt too bad because you should find the maths modules quite easy when uve got the further maths... especially if u want to apply to oxford keep all 4!!

But ultumately... see what ur results are in the summer!! Im sure you will do brilliant but dont make decisions until uve got all the information. If you want to apply to Oxford u will need four As this year. i dont know anyone who has got an oxbridge interview without 4As, let alone an offer

Dont worry about next year, revise hard and get ur As... Thats the best thing u can do right now!!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I did 4 A'levels. If you can keep up the work load then it should be fine. But I'll tell you something. A2 work load is tremendous and with uni applications/personal statement you may be 'forced to' neglect your work for a while and you'll start lagging behind.