The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Hmmm, I really couldn't say very accurately. Have you rowed before?

It varies between clubs - some charge a termly/yearly subscription, some have sponsorship and so get subsidised kit, in some the crew pay for their races, in others it comes out of subs or general funds.

Basically, if you pay your race fees yourself, expect to pay £20-50 a term (roughly!) unless you're novicing, in which case it'll be about £10 for Clare Novices, Fairbairns and maybe Emma Sprints. Boat club dinners are between £20-30 (but aren't compulsory). As for kit, you'll need at least a tech top and an all in one, both of which are £30-40. Splashtops are around £50, none of the official kit is cheap.

I'm sorry I can't be much more specific, it does vary as colleges have such different systems, some have sponsors etc.
Reply 2
i've been rowing for 4 years or so. i just spotted you're at clare - being more specific, how much do you reckon rowing costs at clare? i will be joining you next year. :smile:

cheers for the speedy reply btw!
Reply 3
qwill
i've been rowing for 4 years or so. i just spotted you're at clare - being more specific, how much do you reckon rowing costs at clare? i will be joining you next year. :smile:

cheers for the speedy reply btw!

It's not too bad. We don't pay subscriptions, we just pay our race fees at the end of each term. I'm not sure how many races the first men do, but I'd guess between £20-40 a term on that. If you go to off-Cam regattas/head races that tends to cost more as you have to pay for petrol (generally a few people have cars that we go in). Kit costs are as I said above. Boat Club Dinner is £25-30ish (last term college paid for the wine as a reward for winning the Headship, so it was cheaper!)

It's not too pricey, really :smile:
Reply 4
thank you!
Reply 5
lucky clare, getting an experienced schoolboy rower for next year! Fingers crossed for a few at emma!
Reply 6
Willa