Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey, this is my first time posting, and I'm sorry if this is in the wrong forum, fairly new to the site :elefant:

Essentially I was wondering what are my chances of getting to a top university? At the moment I'm doing my Gcses, but am hoping to get around 3A*, 5As and a few B's. I realize these aren't great results, but I matured late, and many of my modular subjects suffered during years 9 and 10. I obtained a place a good sixth form (500 applicants for 10 places) where I hope I will do well at my a-levels (Mathematics and 3 sciences) after my AS year I am going to Vietnam and Laos as part of a world challenge trip, which I am paying for myself (a LOT of cake sales )
    I know I want to go to university, but not what to study (anything in the science and maths spectrum from computer science to zoology)

Thanks for reading, and for any responses

P.S again sorry if its in the wrong forum, still getting to grips with the site.

ReputationRep:
    They are very very good results! With those results the world is your oyster as you can take any a-levels you want. I think the only time that having 10A*s matters is applying to Oxbridge for medicine! My friend had worse GCSEs than you (She got A*/A's in science and maths but B/C's in everything else) and she's going to Warwick in September to do something to do with physics (Something along those lines!). Don't get too caught up with A*'s at gcse as it really doesn't matter.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks! that's really encouraging and well done to your friend

ReputationRep:
    I think A*/A's are like scout badges as they look pretty, people admire them but in reality they don't matter! :P

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Annuhlees)
    I think A*/A's are like scout badges as they look pretty, people admire them but in reality they don't matter! :P