Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm an A level student offering maths, further maths, physics and chemistry. I'm planning to go for a major in mathematics. I'm confused what's the difference between applied maths and pure maths, and which one has better job prospects?

P. S. I'm not very comfortable with statistics.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kaviraj404)
    I'm an A level student offering maths, further maths, physics and chemistry. I'm planning to go for a major in mathematics. I'm confused what's the difference between applied maths and pure maths, and which one has better job prospects?

P. S. I'm not very comfortable with statistics.
    Normally you would just study one degree called maths, then depending on what module choices are available you would choose more pure or applied modules depending on which you prefer.

The choice of modules you make would not make a lot of difference to your employment prospects so you should just go with whichever areas you prefer.

On the other hand, you could go for a maths with... or maths and... degree, so many of your modules would be from a particular named area. Since your degree would have a different title, it would be more obvious to employers about what you've been studying although I wouldn't expect it to make a big difference to your chances.

With regards to statistics, it would depend on the university as to how much you can avoid it. At Warwick where I study, there's one compulsory stats module and the rest are optional.

ReputationRep:
    Posted from TSR Mobile

Well, in my case it's different. The universities here in Thailand have the option between maths and applied maths. I don't clearly understand the difference between the two. The courses that the universities are offering are very similar for the two. Which one of these majors do you think is more recognized?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kaviraj404)
    Posted from TSR Mobile