The Student Room Group
Graduation day, University of Glasgow
University of Glasgow
Visit website

Career prospects at Glasgow?

I've been admitted for 2014 entry to Glasgow (MSc Political Comm) and the university looks amazing!
(I am an American/international student)

My main concern is how good is the career development office? I also have an offer from a uni closer to London. Glasgow may be a better school and cheaper cost of living, however I am concerned it won't be as easy to network with NGOs, government agencies (including the US State department) and international business. (Yes I know there is a independence referendum in 2014, which could open up some doors)

What has everyone's experience been like @ Glasgow?

I'm leaning Glasgow.
Reply 1
I'm not aware of it being particularly easy / difficult at any university to network with government agencies :lolwut:

I think a lot of what you're asking about has more to do with getting work placements / experience than the actual university, because I don't think any universities have any particular ties to things like that. So just choose your university based on where you'd prefer to go, then get all the work experience you can.
Graduation day, University of Glasgow
University of Glasgow
Visit website
Original post by Aurora.
I'm not aware of it being particularly easy / difficult at any university to network with government agencies :lolwut:

I think a lot of what you're asking about has more to do with getting work placements / experience than the actual university, because I don't think any universities have any particular ties to things like that.