Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    I'm in my first year of sixth form at school and beginning to worry about what I want to do in Uni. So far I think I'v come up with the idea of doing something like Biology because I like sciences. I also like working with children though and was wondering that if I finished a degree in biology after 3/4 years would I be able to do a PGCE with this degree? Ideally if I worked with kids I would like to be a primary school teacher.
    If anyone is doing a Primary PGCE or has done one, is it difficult and how big is the chance of getting a job at a Primary school when you come out?
    Also, how much work experience is needed? And what type of work experience? Does it just have to be in a school or can it be working with children in general because at the moment I am a volunteer at a local Brownie unit and I was wondering if this would count towards work experience
    THANKS!

ReputationRep:
    Biology would be accepted for a Primary PGCE and aim for a 2:1- You will be able to get into some universities with a 2:2 but the scope may not be as wide.

As for work experience the more you can get the better really. Brownies is a great way of getting experience but I would also arrange some for in schools as well, I think current guidance is 10 days but I would try and get something more regular perhaps 1 day a week for a term or try and work some weeks in around your degree timetable. Try and get in to a few different schools over the 3/4 years so you can really build up a picture of what it is to be a teacher!

If you build up the experience from now up until when you apply for your PGCE you will be in a great place to apply!

ReputationRep:
    Thanks that's really helpful I'l try to organise some work experience in a school soon

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LittleOwl27)
    Hi